Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hit F9 to toggle "Store to repository"  (Read 1231 times)
wessel
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 554


« on: December 02, 2013, 11:02:29 PM »

Dear All,

I have a lot of practise making rapid miner work flows.
I think this suggestion will greatly boost my efficiency (and the efficiency of others).

Suggestion:
Right now you ca hit F7, to toggle break-point.
Please make F9 store the operator output to repository (using the operator name as name for repository item)

Best regards,

Wessel
Logged
Marius
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1793



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2013, 01:55:28 PM »

Hi Wessel,

currently F9 ist used to switch to the Results perspective - I doubt that this will be changed.

But what should happen if the operator has more than one output?

Did you know that you can right-click an operator port and select "Store ExampleSet in repository"? Isn't that sufficient? It even works after the process has finished, without any breakpoints.

Best regards,
Marius
Logged

Please add [SOLVED] to the topic title when your problem has been solved! (do so by editing the first post in the thread and modifying the title)
Please click here before posting.
wessel
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 554


« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2013, 02:38:10 PM »

currently F9 ist used to switch to the Results perspective - I doubt that this will be changed.

I agree, the F key was a bad example, maybe use F12.

I never quite managed to store sub-results, after a process has finished.
How exactly should I right click?
The thing is, it should remember this "save" every time I run the process.
So I can then retrieve the result later on, which nicely resets all the meta-data.
I often use the store and retrieve operator.

My alternative suggestion would be to give the Store operator a "default" naming scheme.
So when I connect the store operator, it auto-magically generates a name with which to store the object.
This would really help out a lot.
Now I have to pick my names with great care, and often spend a lot of time creating macros to set this name in an automated fashion.

If an operator has multiple outputs, it would simple store all results.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 02:41:24 PM by wessel » Logged
Marius
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1793



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2013, 04:50:59 PM »

F12 is also occupied, for manually starting the process validation. But finding a good shortcut is the smallest problem Smiley I doubt that this auto-save feature will be accepted by our developer team, but we'll see.

However, here's how to view intermediate results - to store or view the results you can do the following:

- run the process and wait until it has finished
- right-click a port of the operator (the same way as if you wanted to start a new connection, just with the right mouse)
- now you should get the option to either view or to store the data that the port delivered or received

There are two problems which may occur:
- if the operator is located in a loop, you can only see the result of the last iteration
- if your process needs a lot of memory RapidMiner will discard intermediate results that it does not need anymore. In that case the only option you get at right-click is "Disconnect".

This right-clicking feature also works while you are in a breakpoint (obviously only for operators that have already been executed), and even while the process is running.

Logged

Please add [SOLVED] to the topic title when your problem has been solved! (do so by editing the first post in the thread and modifying the title)
Please click here before posting.
wessel
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 554


« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2013, 05:03:29 PM »

Agreed.

So actually my second idea makes more sense.
Generate some auto naming convention.
This might be explicitly integrated with the store operator.
Maybe have a tick box "auto name".

Best regards,

Wessel
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: