Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't import CSV data on Mac  (Read 3234 times)
Frydek
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« on: September 29, 2013, 01:03:16 PM »

Hi
I'm new here. I'm just getting started with RapidMiner.
I'm trying to import a csv file and clicking import csv doesn't do anything.
Am I missing something? I've followed tutorials and in them a wizard appears, which doesn't happen in my case.
The only three options that work are import access, database and binary.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2013, 01:08:54 PM by Frydek » Logged
Frydek
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2013, 01:50:41 PM »

Well, I'm on 10.6.8 thus Java 6... Unresolvable as far as I know...
Logged
Marco Boeck
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 899


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2013, 08:10:41 AM »

Hi,

I'm afraid if you do not have access to Java 7, you will either need to use RM 5.3.008, or update your OS to Mountain Lion (OS X 10.8) for the imports to work correctly.

Regards,
Marco
« Last Edit: October 09, 2013, 08:46:25 AM by Marco Boeck » Logged

Join us in Boston for the RapidMiner World conference!

RapidMiner Studio 6 | RapidMiner Studio 6 Q&A
ldamiani
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2013, 07:37:11 PM »

Im having the same problem on a mountain lion with Java 7 (v25)
Logged
Reshma
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2013, 07:15:36 PM »

I'm on Mountain Lion and using RM 5.3.013. I have Java 7.

I opened RM from inside the scripts folder by double clicking RapidMinerGUI.

When the tool started the first time, I was not prompted for creating a new repository. I started a New Process and then created a new repository. If I try to import a .csv, I get nothing and there's not error messages either.

Can someone help?!
Logged
Marco Boeck
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 899


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2013, 08:26:10 AM »

Hi,

what does it say when you enter the following in your terminal?
Code:
java -version

Regards,
Marco
Logged

Join us in Boston for the RapidMiner World conference!

RapidMiner Studio 6 | RapidMiner Studio 6 Q&A
Reshma
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2013, 03:44:50 PM »

Hi March

java version "1.6.0_43"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_43-b01-447-11M4203)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.14-b01-447, mixed mode)

That's what  I see.

Reshma
Logged
Marco Boeck
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 899


WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2013, 03:57:30 PM »

Hi,

so your Mac is not using Java 7 as the default JVM. Can you try the following:
Go to your Java Preferences in the utilities, and change the order (drag) so Java 7 is at the top.
Then run the terminal test again.

Regards,
Marco
Logged

Join us in Boston for the RapidMiner World conference!

RapidMiner Studio 6 | RapidMiner Studio 6 Q&A
Reshma
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2013, 03:00:44 PM »

Thanks Marco

The funny thing is that in my java preferences under Java Runtime Environment Settings, I only see 1.7. The Java Control Panel is available in my System Preference and that means my system is using Java 7 (I think) but when I run the command Java -version in my terminal, it still returns:
java version "1.6.0_43"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_43-b01-447-11M4203)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.14-b01-447, mixed mode)

I am at a complete loss on forcing my system to use Java 7.
Logged
mdchambers0
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2013, 11:29:32 PM »

It turns out when I installed Java 7 it didn't get rid of Java 6.  I had to get rid of Java 6 then reinstall java 7 then the program worked fine.

Hi

  I am running RM 5.3.013 and OSX 10.8.5 and this feature still does not work?Huh  I can not import CSV files.

Any ideas?Huh

« Last Edit: October 12, 2013, 03:30:47 AM by mdchambers0 » Logged
Marco Boeck
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 899


WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2013, 08:43:42 AM »

Hi,

what does echo $JAVA_HOME say when you enter it in the terminal?

Regards,
Marco
Logged

Join us in Boston for the RapidMiner World conference!

RapidMiner Studio 6 | RapidMiner Studio 6 Q&A
Reshma
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2013, 02:31:32 PM »

Nothing is returned. It's blank.

I suspect we need to set this in some type of profile?
Logged
Kozma
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2013, 01:58:14 PM »

Hi,

The same thing happened to me. Two things got it working:

Open the Java Preferences Utility (Applications > Utilities) and move Java 7 to the top. [This is different from the System Preferences, which, as you've seen, doesn't do any good.]

I did this before I figured out the Preferences, so don't know how much difference it made. I installed the Java Developer's Kit (JDK), I think from the advice of another post on here.

Good luck!
Logged
paulalford
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2013, 03:29:00 PM »

Well, following these steps has broken my RM installation.

I proceeded with the following steps.

Removed Java 6
Installed Java 7 SDK
Set JAVE_HOME to new Java 7 location
Set Path to include new Java location

On RM start it bombs out with the following error:

Code:
#
# A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:
#
#  SIGSEGV (0xb) at pc=0x00007fff8d7f4221, pid=18806, tid=52231
#
# JRE version: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (7.0_45-b18) (build 1.7.0_45-b18)
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (24.45-b08 mixed mode bsd-amd64 compressed oops)
# Problematic frame:
# C  [libGLImage.dylib+0x24221]  storeColor+0x5d1
#
# Failed to write core dump. Core dumps have been disabled. To enable core dumping, try "ulimit -c unlimited" before starting Java again
#
# An error report file with more information is saved as:
# /Users/paulalford/Desktop/rapidminer/hs_err_pid18806.log
#
# If you would like to submit a bug report, please visit:
#   http://bugreport.sun.com/bugreport/crash.jsp
# The crash happened outside the Java Virtual Machine in native code.
# See problematic frame for where to report the bug.
#
./scripts/RapidMinerGUI: line 195: 18806 Abort trap: 6           $JAVA $ADDITIONAL_OPTIONS -Xmx${MAX_JAVA_MEMORY}m -XX:MaxPermSize=128m -cp ${CLASSPATH} -Drapidminer.home=${RAPIDMINER_HOME} -Drapidminer.operators.additional=${RAPIDMINER_OPERATORS_ADDITIONAL} ${RAPIDMINER_JDBC_DRIVER_PARAMETER} com.rapid_i.Launcher "$@"

Would be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.
Logged
jfork
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2013, 03:41:27 AM »

Nothing is returned. It's blank.

I suspect we need to set this in some type of profile?

This same problem is happening to me.  I am running Java 7 SDK.  I got RM to run on my Macbook air running Mountain Lion, but cannot get it to import CSV or excel.  When I try to use the Import data command, nothing happens....

On my iMac running Mavericks, I cannot even get RM to open, it shows the loading screen, then the GUI crashes with a message similar to what Paul Alford reports.  I don't know enough about the code to be able to understand what it's doing wrong or how to fix it.

Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to: