Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sorting Attribute Values  (Read 437 times)
Litera
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« on: May 22, 2013, 04:22:30 AM »

Hi,
my first action in this forum, I hope I gonna do fine.
As I could not find any answers to my question in the forum or the tutorials I decided to open up a new topic.

Im a pretty newbie on RapidMiner. At the moment I am working with a dataset dealing with Credit Risk (my label). The polynominal attribute (credit_risk) is seperated into:
  • Do not Lend
  • High
  • Moderate
  • Low
  • Very Low

This is the order is should have, but RapidMiner sorts the values alphabetical. How can I change the order of the values? Is it possible to add any weights or parameters that get the values in the right order, from: Do not Lend to Very Low?

A helpful answer is very much appreciated.  Thanks in advance.
Logged
Marcin
Global Moderator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 165


« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 12:10:52 PM »

Hi,

Where does RapidMiner sort the values of an attribute alphabetically? I am not sure where to look. Smiley

Best
  Marcin
Logged
Litera
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2013, 02:08:13 PM »

Hey, thanks for replying. Actually I created a scatter plot, which indicated the relationships between certain key variables (Credit Score; Debt Income Ratio)  to my label variable (Credit Risk). Unfortunately the scotter plot sorts the different credit risks (DO NOT LEND to Very Low) alphabetical:

  • DO NOT LEND
  • High
  • Low
  • Moderate
  • Very Low

and not in the order as I stated in the original post. I hope that gives you the information.

Thanks!
Litera
Logged
Marcin
Global Moderator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 165


« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2013, 02:32:12 PM »

OK, I see. I guess you are using the "Advanced Chart" since the "Plot View" does sort the values alphabetically, but, as I think, in the order of their first "creation" in this example set. For the advanced chart I am not aware of any options which can change the order of the values. I think your best option is prefix your values with 1, 2, 3 or a, b, c.
Logged
Litera
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2013, 02:34:39 PM »

Thanks for the quick reply and I thought about the same, but wanted to avoid it. Anyway I will follow your advise and will change the values to 1,2,3,...  

Edit:

I change the values according to your answer to 1,2,3,4,5. The problem still occurs Rapidminer sorts them: 3,4,2,5,1. This has never happened before and I have no idea why or what I can do against.

If anyone has an idea!!!
« Last Edit: May 27, 2013, 08:42:16 AM by Litera » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: